Charity is it about you or is it about those you help?

What does being charitable really mean? Is it putting money into a collection tin? Is it doing something publicly to raise money or gain personal recognition? Or is it about doing something because you genuinely believe helping others even if what you do is portrayed negatively?

Some people actually view helping negatively? Imagine someone spending hours over and above doing things for others? What about those who do that and then those they help say thank you to forever walk away? What about those you help who never support you?

There are lots of individuals who are helping others while their contribution either goes unrecognized or even worse portrayed by some in a negative way ! I find that difficult, surely whatever you do for another with good intentions is positive?

Everyone has the capacity to give to others, although how much will depend on their own lives. It’s unreasonable to expect everyone to give in the same way. What’s important is that we give our time, our money and our care for the right reasons because charity is not about you, its about those we can help.

As a charity Manager what drives me is the ability to give my time and support to others in giving theirs. I am always inspired by seeing the smiles on the faces of those who’ve been helped, supported and encouraged. What if they walk away after? It’s not important because that would make my work about me and not them.

Many times I’ve known people talk about those who get recognized for helping others or those with a high profile in the community  saying “I’m not recognized” and I find myself thinking is the help about you or is it about helping others.

Those working within the charity sector don’t have it easy but then life is getting harder. Society and the way we live has changed.  In times past helping others was a cornerstone of every community. However, work, family life, modern day pressures like finances, etc have all contributed over time to change the way help, encouragement and support is given.

Charity is not about you but it is about those we help, well for me it is !

Leave a comment