“A fundamental concern for others in our individual and community lives would go a long way in making the world the better place we so passionately dreamt of” ~ Nelson Mandela

“A fundamental concern for others in our individual and community lives would go a long way in making the world the better place we so passionately dreamt of.” ~ Nelson Mandela

In the week of Nelson Mandela’s death it seems that everyone is reflecting on his life, what he said,what he did and how he lived. I’ve heard people talking about the legacy and example he’s left behind.

Yesterday, some of the HEALS team and I went to a celebration with a partner organisation (The Moe Foundation) and while there, some of the dicussion centred around making a difference and change in the lives of individual’s and communities. Again, I heard the question “what will people years from now say about the legacy we leave behind?”

I’ve reflected on this at three levels in my own life ~ personal ~ community ~ HEALS

Personal
Becoming a grandmother for the first time nine years ago made me really consider about the people in my life and me made me ask what will I leave behind. Losing my father, nan and other loved ones has focused on the issue of legacy. As a grannie I try and spend quality time with ‘my boys’, we spend days out, we do arts and crafts, we talk about life, we laugh and we cry. It’s my hope that years from now ‘my boys’ will remember these special times and in turn think of me. A few years ago I bought my grandsons their own Christmas Tree. I intend to buy them a tree decoration every so often so that when they’re grown up, they’ll think about me and they’ll be able to see my legacy as being love, care and sharing.

Community
My mum says that I was always a kind child, always willing to share with others whether that was my toys or my time. Little has changed over the years, I still give my time and toys have been replaced by sharing what I have. I have a belief that we’re all responsible in some way for each other and although we’ll never help everyone, we should help those we can and those who reach out for our help.
There are some people who don’t get it, they can’t understand why anyone could give their time or share what they have so freely with others, without payment or gain. These same people, profess to care and want to help others. For me their negative comments says more about them than it does me. Giving to others is not about you, it’s not about doing something to gain praise or recognition, it is about being true to yourself and being true in your help, encouragement and support of others. I don’t intend to change me because being the real me is making me the happiest I’ve ever been and that’s my legacy ~ I’m me no matter what!

HEALS ~ Help Encouragement And Local Support
HEALS basic aim through it’s four core projects (Helping Hands ~ WILLS FRIENDS ~ CLASS ~ Communitybiz) is to help people to help themselves, its about empowerment! Each project in itself aims to bring about a change to individuals and communities but the fact they’re linked makes this much more powerful. The next few years are going to be one of building a network of HEALS organisations. HEALS is something unique, powerful and has the ability to change lives and communities for years to come. So we’re building a legacy.

For me a fundamental concern for others in our individual and community lives would go a long way in making the world a better place. Being true to yourself and your values, leads the way and leaves a lasting legacy.

http://www.alisoncross-jones.com

http://www.heals.btck.co.uk

Leave a comment