Jack of all trades in the community?

They say if you want a job doing then ask a busy person! I’ve observed, that this is true and the ‘usual suspects’ always seem to be putting themselves forward to help.  It’s wonderful for people to want to give freely of their time, to volunteer or work for a good cause. However, in some instances it seems that there are those ‘doing’ almost every type of volunteering and work. Are these individuals a Jack of all trades? Could they be spreading themselves too thinly or too far? I guess the proof of the pudding is in the eating because whilst it’s admirable for people to come forward, putting themselves down for too much runs the risk of ‘watering down their ability to do the job well’. It’s impossible to give your best to everything and give everything a strong commitment.  Do not assume that because someone is involved in ‘everything’ that they are the best person for the job you want them to do. Their contacts may be useful but will they be? 

I’ve often heard people put down those who do voluntary, community or charity work, some brush it aside as meaningless.  My answer to those who shun it is, you learn far more about yourself, your community and others. Let’s not forget the skills and knowledge gained, is enormous from communication, social, intellectual, the list is endless.

As Manager of a charity and in my experience of community and charity work spanning over twenty years, I’ve found it’s best to do one [or two] things really well, rather than be ‘splashing’ around doing ‘life’s doggy paddle’or having too many fingers in too many pies. Networking has been the one key ingredient’s to working successfully across the voluntary and community sector.

Time keeping is another important ingredient to success. I learnt the art of time management very quickly, those I’ve worked with know only too well that being on time has never been a strength of mine. I’ve learnt that if I don’t write it down it doesn’t get done! 

What happens when we do too much? I’ve been one of those who was always sticking my hand up to do something. Those around me [my family and friends] would groan! “You’re not taking on another group/organisation/project ….”  Of course, like a lot of enthusiastic others, I had the bug and so powered ahead not listening! What I hadn’t realized was that I was heading for burn out. Things I used to cope with well, made me emotional and those around me, my colleagues, friends and family didn’t always understand the way I was behaving.  Those who tried to help me with friendly words became like the invisible man!

Burnout hits you like a bolt out of the blue! You don’t see it coming yourself! I’ve spoken to a few people this has happened to and almost all of those have said that for them burn out or a breakdown because of burnout has been a dark time. The confidence you once had has packed its bag and goes on holiday! A search party is needed!

Thankfully, with every cloud there is a ray of sunshine and what could have been a ‘woe is me time’ turned into the best time ever. I can honestly say the search party found my confidence just in the nick of time. HEALS – Help Encouragement And Local Support has given me my zest and motivation back and it’s allowed me to use all of my personal and professional experiences to help make a positive contribution . I’m back doing the one thing I love the most, helping others and it’s something I get a real ‘buzz’ from seeing the difference happen. We say that HEALS aspires to make a difference and be the difference.

So should we seek to become a ‘Jack of all trades’ or a master of one? I know which one I’ll choose, do you?

This blog is part of the I Am Woman 30 day blogging challenge.

http://www.iamwoman.biz

2 thoughts on “Jack of all trades in the community?

  1. This is very timely for me. I have been on the board/in chapter leadership of two major industry organizations for the past few years (one for two, one for 8). This year, I decided it would be my last year in leadership with both. I still plan to be involved in the organization, but I realized that as I got more involved in my mental health awareness work, I was spreading myself too thin and may not have the time to give both organizations going forward. It was bittersweet, as I’m also a person who’s hand goes up for every project and position, but as I move into a different phase of my life, I had to re-evaluate where my efforts went.

Leave a comment